Chang and Mohd Johari clinch Gross and Nett champions spots

PETALING JAYA: The sixth qualifying round of the Prudential Astro Masters presented a dramatic finish at Amverton Cove Golf & Island Resort, Pulau Carey, on Sept 19.

The 120-player field were treated to 18 holes of fine weather at a course designed by Australian architect, Jason Winter.

With water hazards and bunkers posing a challenge to the majority of the players on the short but tricky course layout, countbacks were needed to determine the champions.

Chang Thean Siang returned with a superb gross score of 74 on countback.

The Nett champion joining Chang on the Malindo Air flight to the Grand Final in Phnom Penh will be Mohd Johari Tarmidi. The 10-handicapper won on countback with a Nett score of 67.

In the A Medal category, Sathiya Mumisamy (8) won a Panasonic Double Door Refrigerator after signing for 70 Nett.

The second and third positions needed a countback when Mohd Hezri Md. Hassan and Mychelle Tai were tied at 71 Nett respectively. Hezri's score on the back nine was better than Mychelle's.

Meanwhile, Shah Rizan Ahmad (12) was the champion of the B Medal with a Nett score of 67. First runner-up Ramesh Surianarayanan (14) signed for a 67 Nett, while 13-handicapper Mohd Hassan Basri Masri (13) returned with 68 Nett.

The three winners of the C Medal needed a countback and eventually won by Mohd Radzi Saad (15) who denied Mustaffa Yusof (17) after both players carded identical 67s. 15-handicapper Azlan Abdul Rahman took the third spot on countback based on his last three holes with 71 Nett.

The Nearest-to-Line at the par-4, 335-metre 16th hole was won by Datuk IR. Fauzi with a measurement of 30 centimetres. He walked home with a golf shaft sponsored by Vin Sporting House.

READ  Day of World Cup reckoning for holders Germany

Zulkiepli Mispan was the toast of the day when he broke the tournament's Longest Drive record of 270 metres. His bombed his drive 275.6 metres on the 473-metre par-4, 8th hole to win a Bridgestone J40 5-Wood.

The Sure-to-Win prize of a 65-inch Panasonic LED full-HD TV was won by Mohd Shafeeq after his tee shot on the 155-metre par 3, 5th hole was closest to the cup at 1 metre and 80 centimetres.

The Grand Lucky Draw prize of a Titoni watch was won by Sahrudin Sharan when his scorecard was caught by Chew Keng Heng, the General Manager of Panasonic Malaysia.

One of the highlights that participants look forward to in the annual PAM event is the Grand Final that is traditionally held overseas. The Grand Final has been held in eight countries, including China, and last year celebrated its 20th Anniversary in Muscat, Oman.

This year the two-day Grand Final travels to Phnom Penh, Cambodia and the battle for the Champion of the Year will be held at the Grand Phnom Penh Golf Club and Garden City Golf Club.

Leave a Reply