Vigneswaran to lead MIC

PETALING JAYA: Tan Sri S.A. Vigneswaran is the new president of MIC.

Previously the party's vice-president, he won the post uncontested with 1,808 nominations, according to an online news portal.

He takes over from Datuk Seri Dr S. Subramaniam who expressed his intention to quit the party's top post, after Barisan Nasional's (BN) defeat in the 14th general election.

Subramaniam failed to defend his Segamat parliamentary constituency against PKR's Datuk Seri Dr Edmund Santhara Kumar Ramanaidu.

Vigneswaran was the Dewan Negara President during the previous BN administration.

READ  RTM to have panel of assessors for Sabah, S'wak productions

Leave a Reply