Armed Forces Chief heads Penang honours list

GEORGE TOWN: Armed Forces chief Gen Tan Sri Zulkifli Zainal Abidin (pix) heads the list of 962 recipients of honours and medals conferred in conjunction with the 80th birthday of the Yang Dipertua Negri of Penang Tun Abdul Rahman Abbas, today.

Zulkifli, 59, who was appointed to the post on June 20 is among the two recipients of the Darjah Panglima Pangkuan Negeri (DPPN) which carries the title 'Datuk Seri'.

According to the list issued by the office of the State Secretary today, the other DPPN recipient was 62-year-old entrepreneur and corporate figure Tan Sri Tan King Tai @ Tan Khoon Hai.

Thirtheen people were conferred the Darjah Gemilang Pangkuan Negri (DGPN) which also carries the title 'Datuk Seri'.

They were Penang Mufti Datuk Dr Wan Salim Wan Mohd Nor; Federal Territory Mufti Datuk Dr Zulkifli Mohamad Al-Bakri; Penang police chief Datuk A. Thaiveegan; former Penang Island City Council (MBPP) mayor Datuk Maimunah Mohd Shariff; BP Healthcare Group director Major Gen Datuk Wira Mohd Noor Daud; R. Jumabhoy & Sons and Trans Orient (M) Sdn Bhd founder Datuk Mustafa Ali R. Jumabhoy; MTT Group of Companies & Priority Group of Companies executive chairman Datuk Ong Kean Lee.

The others were founder and chairman of Safety Fibre Industries Sdn Bhd Datuk Ewe Tuan Beng; National Heart Institute Cardiothoracic Surgery Department head Datuk Seri Dr Jeffrey Jeswant Dillon; QSR Brands (M) Holdings managing director Datuk Mohamed Azahari Mohamed Kamil; general surgeon and head of the Surgery Department of the Tengku Ampuan Rahimah Hospital, Selangor, Datuk Dr Mohamed Yusof Abdul Wahab; Malaysian American Electronics Industry chairman Datuk Wong Siew Hai and Royal Customs Department deputy director-general (Enforcement and Compliance) Datuk Zulkifli Yahya.

READ  Police to call in organiser of protest outside parliament

Eleven people received the Darjah Yang Mulia Pangkuan Negeri (DMPN) which carries the title 'Datuk'. They were Penang Deputy Chief Minister I Datuk Ahmad Zakiyuddin Abd Rahman; former Penang police chief Datuk Chuah Ghee Lye; Tonmooi Group of Companies managing director Datuk Koay Ah Meng; Penang Cricket Association president Datuk Lakhbir Singh Sadu Singh; former state executive council members namely Law Heng Kiang and Lim Hock Seng.

The others were businessman Datuk Lim Yam Koi; volunteer Datuk Meh Reng @ Mary Dong; PLB Engineering Berhad Group of Companies director Datuk Dr Ong Seng Soon; operator of the country's biggest automated car wash Datuk Peh Weng Khim and member of Board of Directors of Western Digital Malaysia Datuk Syed Hussian Syed Junid.

Sixty-two received the Darjah Setia Pangkuan Negeri (DSPN) which also carries the 'Datuk' title including Agriculture and Agro-based Industry Minister Salahuddin Ayub; Penang Syarie chief judge Mohamad Shakir Abdul Hamid; Deputy State Secretary (Development) Dr Mohamad Farazi Johari; MBPP mayor Yew Tung Seang; Penang Health director Dr Wan Mansor Hamzah and Town and Country Planning Department director-general Rokibah Abdul Latif.

Also receiving the DSPN were former Penang Public Works Department director Ahmad Redza Ghulam Rasool; former Penang Irrigation and Drainage Department director Sabri Abdul Mulok; Key Management Services Penang Sdn Bhd director Datin Annie Chin Lye Kheng; entrepreneur G.P Asok Kumar; Malaysian Ambassador to Morocco Astanah Banu Shri Abdul Aziz; dean of the School of Industrial Technology of Universiti Sains Malaysia Prof Dr Azhar Mat Easa; Benchmark Electronics Sdn Bhd deputy president and general manager Dr S. Balamurugan and National House Buyers Association founder and honorary secretary Chang Kim Loong.

READ  Zeti hopes retailers will pass on benefits to consumers

Tun Abdul Rahman also conferred the Pingat Gagah Perwira (PGP) to an auxiliary policeman at the Sultan Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah Bridge Constable Zaidi Salleh who risked his life by jumping into the sea to rescue a woman who jumped off the bridge.

Meanwhile, 44 people received the Darjah Johan Negeri (DJN), 67 received the Bintang Cemerlang Negeri (BCN), the Pingat Kelakuan Terpuji (PKT) (129 people), the Pingat Jasa Kebaktian (PJK) (290 people), the Pingat Jasa Masyarakat (PJM) (306 people) and 37 received the Pingat Bakti Setia (PBS). — Bernama

Leave a Reply